Today is the Day

Meditation

The day that I attempt Meditation. Day after day for many years I have heard of the powerful benefits of meditation. Energy, calmness, clear mind, cures for anxiety, a way to be mindful, even improvements in cognitive function. Why not do meditation? – That’s simple, because its hard, it requires sitting and I could be doing something else, I don’t know how to do it, I don’t even know where to begin. I had (still have) many doubts in my mind, which is why I realize I may be a perfect meditation student – to clear my mind of those doubts.

Just recently, within the last week or so, meditation has become more and more prominent in our discussions in my daily yoga practice and current yoga teacher training lectures. I am dedicated to embarking on this spiritual journey, and I am now learning that meditation is a key stepping stone on this mystic path. I usually am one who over prepares for things, so I know not just how to do something but how to do it correctly. Somehow, I disregarded my usual tendencies, and simply came home from work, made myself comfortable in my room, candle lit, and focused on my breath (prana). I gave myself 6 minutes to just sit comfortably and breathe, repeating the mantra “Inhaling, Exhaling”. It was quiet all around me, but my mind was flying with thoughts. I once overheard someone say to imagine the thoughts as if they were trains passing through your neighborhood – acknowledge them and let them continue down their tracks. This analogy really helped me regroup and focus on breathing. The mind chatter would come baring down the tracks of my gray matter, roaring from one side of my head to the other. Then, by acknowledging them much like noticing a train, I was able to tune it out and focus on my breath once more. “Inhaling.” “Exhaling.”

Did I achieve anything wonderful from this 6 minute practice? Well, not really. I almost dosed off twice. I realized how difficult it was to sit still. It certainly is not as easy as it looks. Will I do it again? Absolutely. I am learning through my yoga practice that although I may not achieve things immediately, I will get there in do time. I promised my self I would return to my seat, and try for 7 minutes tomorrow.

Readers, do you have any advice for someone beginning meditation? Do you think meditation has changed you in any way? Am I doing it right?


Leave a comment